Child pages
  • Backing up and uploading courses in Moodle 2.5
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
  1. You can backup a course so that you can have a local copy or so you can upload it into a new course.  
    1. If you do not wish to backup an old course but want to simply upload it into a new course, please go down to #4 below.
  2. If you wish to backup a course, go to the course and under the Administration block, choose "Backup."

3. This will bring you to the next page where you can change the backup settings.  Generally, you will leave most of these settings as they are, but we will remove the previous users in the class so that all previous work submitted by students such as discussion posts, assignment submissions and feedback are removed.

a. Keep the "Initial Settings" the same and click NEXT

b. On the next page "Schema Settings" make sure to click on NONE over USER DATA (this will remove all of the student submissions). You will see all of the checks in the boxes in the column under USER DATA disappear. (ignore the actual stuff under "General" on the left, your course will look differently)

 

c. Scroll all the way down and click on NEXT.

d. This will bring you to the next page, "Confirmation and Review." Scroll all the way down and click on "Perform Backup."

e. You may have to wait a little while, but when this is completed, you should see "The backup file was successfully created" and then choose CONTINUE.

f. On the next page, you will see your just-backed up course in the "Course Backup Area."  You can now choose DOWNLOAD to the right of your course and this will let you save it to your local computer.

g. You are now ready to upload this saved backup into your new course.  Continue with step 3, below.

 

3. To upload an old course into a new one, go to the new course and under "Administration." choose "Restore"

a. This will bring you to the page where you can either browse to find the backup file that you just made, or (this is a new feature) you can drag the file to the designated area shown.

b. If you browse, just click on "Choose a file" and then "Upload a file" on the next screen.  Then, browse to find the backup file and when done, you'll see it in the box.

c. If you drag and drop it, it will show up in the box.

d. Once you see the backup file in the box, choose "Restore."

e. The next page is "Confirm," scroll down and click on CONTINUE

f. The next page is "Destination" and in the "Restore into the course" box, you should choose "Delete the contents of this course and restore."  (See picture below)

 

g. Click CONTINUE

h. This will bring you to "Settings," click NEXT

i. In "Schema settings" you can change the start date of the course, leave everything else the same and click NEXT

j. The next page is "Review" and you can scroll down and click "Perform Restore."

k. This may take some time, but you will eventually see "The course was restored successfully, clicking the continue button below will take you to view the course you restored." and then click CONTINUE.

l. You are now done and can access your new course with all of your old content in it.

 

4. If you want to upload an old course into a new one and do not wish to do a backup of the old one first, get into the new course and in the Administration block, choose "Import." (see below)(

a. This will bring you to the page where you can find the old course that you wish to use for the import.  In the empty box (see arrow below), put the CRN number of the old course.

b. Click SEARCH and this will bring you to several courses (from previous semesters with the same CRN).  Choose the correct one. (In the example below, the correct one is the GOVT-130 (10386) course from Fall 2013.

c. Click on CONTINUE.

d. This will bring you to "Initial Settings," click NEXT

e. The next page is "Schema Settings, click NEXT

f. On the next page, scroll down and click on PERFORM IMPORT

g. This may take some time.

h. When done, you will see "Import complete. Click continue to return to the course." and then click CONTINUE

i. The course is now ready.

 

  • No labels